Wrestling PPV Reviews

ROH Phoenix Rising Review

Overall: 8.25/10

Rocky Romero vs. Kenny Omega – ***1/4

Shawn Daivari vs. Human Tornado – **

Kevin Steen vs. Scott Lost – ***

The Briscoes, Necro Butcher, & Rasche Brown vs. Claudio Castagnoli & The Embassy (Bison Smith, Joey Ryan, & Prince Nana) – ***

Kenny King(5) vs. Scorpio Sky (Pick 6 Match) – **3/4

Steve Corino vs. Jerry Lynn (Hardcore Match) – ***1/4

American Wolves vs. Colt Cabana and El Generico – ***3/4

Roderick Strong vs. Austin Aries, Tyler Black© vs. Austin Aries (ROH World Title), Tyler Black© vs. Austin Aries vs. Roderick Strong (ROH World Title) – ***3/4 for all segments

Final Thoughts: I thought this was pretty good show all-around. For me, the card went above and beyond my expectations just by looking at it on paper. Lynn/Corino was a good match, but I think it’s overrated considering the other reviews I’ve seen gave it ***3/4. I didn’t like how Steen/Corino, Generico/Cabana were involved in the 3 matches although I really enjoyed the tag match w/ the Wolves. I understand it was done to advance the storyline/feud, but it was overkill for me. I loved how ROH built up the ROH World Title match at Big Bang with the main-event matches (segments.) I have a problem with the fact that nothing on this show will really be memorable. No **** match hurt the show but it did have a ton of good matches. Out of the 2 Phoenix shows, I think From The Ashes was better but this show is still worth picking up.

Leave a Reply

